The Broken Contract Rule Set

Anything gaming related is fair game.
xnickbaranx
Game Designer

The Broken Contract Rule Set

Postby xnickbaranx » Wed Sep 30, 2015 10:59 am

Showdown "boss fight" between some Breakers and a Prod Gen-Mod.

Hey all! I'd like to introduce you all to Broken Contract, the rule set, setting, and miniature range that I've been working on for the last 2 years. In Broken Contract we fast forward a few hundred years into the future where national borders and identity finally gave way corporations who are working to colonize the stars. One no longer identifies as a citizen of a nation, but as a worker contracted to the corporation they serve. For most the only thing worse than being worked to death, is the only alternative: to be left to die in the wastes of some partially terraformed backwater planet without the food, water, or air "generously" provided by the corporations.

Currently I'm focusing in on one little microcosm of this dystopian future, to the iron rich planet of Hathor, currently under lease to the FerrumSky Corporation, an iron conglomerate that mines iron ore, refines steel, and builds the glittering domes that dot countless colony worlds at the expense of other corporations. The mines are a hellish place, populated with workers from all over the expanse of space, driven to meet unrealistic quotes while working 14, 16, even 18 hour days under some of the most dangerous conditions. Deep underground life is brutal, short, and miserable, and many believe it doesn't have to be this way. Some believe they can either flip the script on their masters and some others feel that taking a shot at escape is worth the risk of death, just to have the experience of living free, for however short that life might be.

The mines are a dangerous place with their close quarters, ledges, fissures, and the tension between the Breakers and Prods.